Tuesday, January 08, 2013

Australia's Longest Kitesurfing Race - Lighthouse to Leighton 2012

Australia's longest kitesurfing race - the Red Bull Lighthouse to Leighton 2012, was held on Saturday 15th December 2012. The race was limited to 100 male competitors and 10 female competitors,

The 19km course starts at Phillip Point Rottnest, off the coast of Perth the continues across the Indian Ocean on the Gage Roads channel and finishing at Leighton Beach, North Fremantle.

The course record for the 19 kilometre channel crossing is 24 minutes, 34 seconds and was established by World Speed Ace Alex Caizergues in 2010.

Jonahthon Keys won the mens with a time of 25:20.

Kiera MacFarlane won the womens with a time of 30:21

No comments: